Questions About “Certification”?

2018 NNADAP/NYSAP Addiction Worker Certification Update

Indigenous Services Canada, First Nations and Inuit Health Branch is in the process of updating certification status for Ontario NNADAP/NYSAP Treatment Centre and NNADAP Community-based workers.
Updates must be sent to the Ontario Region, First Nation and Inuit Health Branch by August 1, 2018 in order to qualify for the 2018-19 Certification Retention Incentive.


Please click on the letter below to view more details.
Click on letter to view Details


 What is meant by “Certification”?

The ORAPC (Ontario Regional Addictions Partnership Committee) is encouraging all NNADAP Workers to become a Certified Addictions Workers certified by one of the following certifying bodies:

What are the different levels of Certification?


  • Indigenous Certified Addictions Specialist I (ICADC I)
  • Indigenous Certified Addictions Specialist II (ICADC II)
  • Indigenous Certified Addictions Specialist III (ICADC III)


  • ICPS (International Certified Prevention Specialist)
  • ICADC (International Certified Alcohol and Drug Counsellor)
  • ICCAC (International Certified Clinical Addictions Counsellor)
  • ICCDP (International Certified Co-occuring Disorders Professional)
  • ICCS (International Certified Clinical Supervisor)


  • Associate Addictions Counsellor (AAC)
  • Certified Addictions Counsellor II (CAC II)

What is required for Certification?

The following are requirements of all 3 levels of certification for FNWACCB:
All applicants must demonstrate knowledge and/or experience in the following 12 core functions. (The competencies documented are assessed according to a competency scale.)

  1. Screening
  2. Intake
  3. Orientation
  4. Assessment and evaluation
  5. Treatment Planning
  6. Counselling: Individual, Group and Significant others
  7. Case Management
  8. Crisis Intervention
  9. Client Education
  10. Referral
  11. Reports and Record Keeping
  12. Consultation With Other Professionals In Regard To Client Treatment/Services

In addition to the 12 core functions the following must be demonstrated.  Knowledge and skills – assessed through review of all the information provided (course description and hours, transcripts, certificates, job descriptions, previous and present work experience, Supervisor evaluation, letters of reference and endorsement).

Level I requires: High School or GED, 1 year of Full-time employment as an Aboriginal Addictions Counsellor and 120 hours of training in Core Functions and 120 hours of training in Addictions Related Topics (see list below).  The other levels require longer employment experience and more hours of training.  Please see the website for requirements for other levels.

Addictions Related Topics
Communication Skills
Knowledge of Addictions
Analytical Skills
Cultural competency
Group facilitation
Conflict resolution
Collaborative skills
Interviewing approaches and techniques
Professional Integrity

Where can I get more information?

More information can be found by viewing the certification boards’ website or by contacting them directly.  Your ORAPC Representative can always answer any questions you may have as well as the ORAPC Coordinator.

2 Replies to “Questions About “Certification”?”

  1. Hi
    My name is Melanie Fraser
    As you know that Native Horizon Treatment centre was destroyed by fire. I was one of the Sr. counsellors who lost all my certificates. My whole binder was destroyed with the original copies. I was wondering if someone may send me by email all my documents. Thank you in Advanced.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *